Vendor
Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Published by
Philomel (2017-01-03)
Current material
Final Pages
Original language
English
Themas
Children’s picture books
BACK

WHAT'S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT FIRST LADIES

by Faulkner, MattShamir, Ruby

First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America? Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn't let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?

It's true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White Houseand on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all!

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President? and Rad American Women from A-Z:Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History... And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.


Ruby Shamir (www.rubyshamir.com) worked at the White House for three and a half years, two of which she served in the First Lady's office. Later, she led Hillary Rodham Clinton's New York Senate office. Ruby Shamir now works as a writer and literary researcher in the Bronx, NY, where she lives with her husband and three children.
Matt Faulkner (www.mattfaulkner.com) is an award-winning children's book author and illustrator with thirty-nine books to his credit. He is married to author and children's librarian Kris Remenar, and they live with their two children and two cats in the lower right hand corner of Michigan. You can follow him on Twitter @mattfaulkner1.

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Sebastian Ritscher

Available View on Rightsdesk


Weblink:
www.rubyshamir.com

Comments

A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, “remember the ladies.

Review: Kirkus, starred Review

More like this