Vendor
Sanford J. Greenburger Associates (1)
Published by
Amistad / HarperCollins (2020-06-09)
Current material
Final Pages
Original language
English
BACK

THE SECRET WOMEN

by Williams, Sheila

The author of Dancing on the Edge of the Roof, now a Netflix film starring Alfre Woodard, returns with a riveting, emotionally rich, novel that explores the complex relationship between mothers and daughters in a fresh, vibrant way - a stunning page-turner for fans of Terry McMillan, Tayari Jones, and Kimberla Lawson Roby.

Elise Armstrong, Carmen Bradshaw, and DeeDee Davis meet in a yoga class. Though vastly different, these women discover they all have one thing in common: their mothers have recently passed away. Becoming fast friends, the trio make a pact to help each other sort through the belongings their mothers' left behind. But when they find old letters and diaries, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee are astonished to learn that each of their mothers hid secrets - secrets that will transform their own lives.

Meeting each month over margaritas, the trio share laughter, advice, and support. As they help each other overcome challenges and celebrate successes, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee gain not only a better understanding of the women their mothers were, but of themselves. They also come to realize they have what their mothers needed most but did not have during difficult times - other women they could trust.

Filled with poignant life lessons, The Secret Women pays tribute to the power of friendship and family and the bonds that tie us together. Beautiful, full of spirit and heart, it is a thoughtful and ultimately uplifting story of unconditional love.

Sheila Williams is the author of Dancing on the Edge of the Roof, On the Right Side of a Dream, The Shade of My Own Tree, and Girls Most Likely. She is a contributor to the anthology A Letter for My Mother, selected and edited by Nina Foxx. She has been commissioned as the librettist for Fierce, an original opera composed by William Menefield for the Cincinnati Opera's 100th season in 2020. She lives in Northern Kentucky.

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Bahar Avcilar

Available View on Rightsdesk

Comments

A newfound friendship galvanizes three women into exploring their late mothers' pasts... A moving examination of the complexities of motherhood and the strength of female friendship.

www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/sheila-williams/the-secret-women/

Review: Kirkus

This big-hearted, authentic portrayal of both friendship among middle-aged women and the mother-daughter bond will appeal to fans of Terry McMillan.

Review: Booklist

Elise, Carmen and DeeDee all have one thing in common: they've recently lost their mothers... Moving on and armed with new knowledge about their moms, it's together that these three women find comfort, hope and closure.

shereads.com/best-beach-reads-2020/

Review: SheReads

Award-winning author Sheila Williams' latest book is a rich, emotionally uplifting story...

www.pressreader.com/usa/womans-world/20200615/282896617833199

Review: Woman's World

As they navigate their grief, the three daughters dig deeper into their mothers' pasts to better understand themselves.

time.com/5839429/best-books-summer-2020/

Review: Time, "45 New Books You Need to Read This Summer"

THE SECRET WOMEN has been named a Top Summer Read by Time, Women's World, SheReads, Bitch Media and Parade

Quote: Greenburger

More like this