Vendor
Biagi Rights
Published by
Crooked Lane (2022-07-12)
Current material
2nd Pass Pages
Original language
English
Themas
Thriller / suspense fiction
BACK

THE PERFECT NEIGHBORHOOD

by Alterman, Liz

Liz Alterman's engrossing novel is a thought-provoking read about the dark side of suburbia and the secrets of close-knit communities, perfect for fans of Joshilyn Jackson.

When actress and model Allison Langley leaves her former rockstar husband, Christopher, in the middle of the night, it's all her Oak Hill neighbors can talk about. The gossip comes to an abrupt halt when five-year-old Billy Barnes goes missing on his walk home from kindergarten.

Billy's mother, Rachel, blames herself for being at work and letting her only child walk alone. Cassidy, Billy's teenage babysitter, was also late to arrive on the afternoon he disappeared and blames herself for his disappearance.

As the clock ticks down, police are unable to find any trace of Billy, forcing Rachel to ponder the enemies she's made in their well-off suburb. Could it be one of her neighbors who stole her son? Would they abduct Billy to hurt her? How easy would it be to take a child while the parents or nannies are distracted?

When another child goes missing, the town is put under a microscope as the police try to get to the bottom of the disappearances. Will they be able to find the two children, or will it be too late? What secrets lie at the heart of this tragedy, and how far will one go to keep those dangerous secrets buried?

Liz Alterman is the author of a young adult novel, He'll Be Waiting. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, McSweeney's, and other outlets. THE PERFECT NEIGHBORHOOD is her adult fiction debut.

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Annelie Geissler

Available View on Rightsdesk

Comments

No neighborhood is perfect, but Oak Hill has more secrets than most. When a young boy goes missing, four women's lives are sent spiraling: the babysitter who was late to pick him up, his mother, a neighbor and a woman who escaped Oak Hill only months ago. Suspicions arise, and everyone's a suspect. And then another child goes missing... Can they figure out who is responsible before it's too late? Alterman deftly uses alternating perspectives to show us the building tensions, leading to one surprising twist after another. I couldn't put this down.

Quote: Catherine McKenzie, Please Join Us and Fractured

UK: Legend Press

Quote: Biagi

In Alterman's debut psychological suspense novel everybody is gossiping, everybody is watching, but nobody saw a child disappear. A picture-perfect community dissolves as social paranoia takes second place to fear. Alterman dives deep into the emotional secrets of a babysitter, a retired actress, the mother of the missing boy, and all those neighbors in their "fairytale marriages." The combination of super-relatable characters and nearly unbearable suspense made it impossible to stop reading.

Quote: Sarah Warburton, author of You Can Never Tell

More like this