BACK

RISE UP!

How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy

by Fleming, Crystal M.

Perfect for fans of Stamped: Remix, This Book is Antiracist, and The Black Friend, this urgent book explores the roots of racism and its legacy in modern day, all while empowering young people with actionable ways they can help foster a better world and become antiracists.

Why are white supremacists still openly marching? Why are undocumented children of color separated from their families and housed in cages? Where did racism come from? Why hasn't it already disappeared? And what can young people do about it?

RISE UP! breaks down the origins of racial injustice and its continued impact today, connecting dots between the past and present.
By including contemporary examples ripped from headlines and actionable ways young people can help create a more inclusive world, sociologist Crystal M. Fleming shares the knowledge and values that unite all antiracists: compassion, solidarity, respect, and courage in the face of adversity.

Dr. Crystal M. Fleming is Associate Professor of Sociology and Africana Studies at SUNY Stony Brook. She is an award-winning writer, speaker and educator committed to empowering individuals and communities with the conceptual tools needed to understand, confront and challenge white supremacy. Her first book Resurrecting Slavery: Racial Legacies and White Supremacy in France uses critical race theory to significantly advance scholarship on racism in France and Europe. She is also the author of How to Be Less Stupid About Race, is a unique and irreverent take on everything that's wrong with our "national conversation about race," and what to do about it.

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Annelie Geissler

Available View on Rightsdesk


Weblink:
http://www.crystalfleming.com/

Comments

A smart guide to understanding and living anti-racism.

Review: Kirkus, starred review

he book's positivity, depth of information not mentioned in other books for this age group, and the five steps provided to help people become antiracist advocates make this a standout and are sure to inspire young people to act.

Review: Booklist, starred review

The author's voice is engaging and the narrative is deeply informative; her choice of subjects makes for a notably intersectional set of represented experiences.

Review: School Library Journal, starred review

In this comprehensive history and study of racism and guide on combating white supremacy, educator, researcher, and sociologist Fleming takes readers through history to explore what racism is, where it comes from, why it still exists, and what can be done about it.

Review: Publishers Weekly, starred review

RISE UP! is a Booklist Editors' Choice winner, a Kirkus Best YA Book of 2021, a School Library Journal Best Book of 2021, a 2022 Notable Social Studies Trade Book, and a Cooperative Children's Book Center Choice for 2022.

Quote: Dystel

More like this