Vendor
Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Published by
Putnam (2016-01-26)
Current material
Final Pages
Original language
English
Themas
Fiction & Related items
BACK

NOAH'S WIFE

by Starck, Lindsay

In the tradition of Daniel Wallace’s Big Fish and Eowyn Ivey’s The Snow Child, a gorgeously written, brilliantly introspective, fable-like novel reimagining Noah’s Ark for our modern times.

When young minister Noah and his dutiful wife arrive at their new post in the hills, they've reached a gray and wet little town where it’s been raining for as long as anyone can remember. Noah’s wife is determined to help her husband revive this soggy congregation but soon finds her efforts thwarted by her eccentric new neighbors, among them an idiom-wielding Italian hardware store owner, a towering town matriarch, and a lovelorn zookeeper determined to stand by his charges. Overwhelmed, Noah’s wife fails to realize that Noah, too, is battling his own internal crisis.

Soon the river waters rise, flooding the streets of the town and driving scores of wild animals out of the once-renowned zoo. As the water swallows up the houses, the telephone poles, and the single highway out of town, Noah, his wife, and the townspeople must confront not only the savage forces of nature but also the fragile ties that bind them to one another, all before their world is washed away.

Full of whimsy and gentle ironic humor, Noah’s Wife is a wise and poignant novel that draws on the motifs of the biblical flood story to explore the true meaning of community, to examine the remarkable strength of the human spirit, and to ask whether hope can exist even where faith has been lost.

Lindsay Starck was born in Wisconsin and raised in the Milwaukee Public Library. She studied literature at Yale and creative writing at Notre Dame. She is editor in chief of Carolina Quarterly and writes and teaches in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, where she lives with her husband and their dog. Noah’s Wife is her first book.

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Sebastian Ritscher

Available View on Rightsdesk

Comments

Starck uses themes from [the] faith-based tale to illustrate human frailty and the power of hope. . . . the writing [is] absorbing and characters as colorful as the setting is bleak.

Review: Milwaukee Magazine

If I found out this book had been translated from French, I would learn French in order to be able to read it in the language it was originally written in. I love it.

Quote: Daniel Wallace

Starck's unusual, often charmingly phrased fable is constructed around the responses of a band of individuals to life's unpredictable challenges. . . . Variously romantic, symbolic, philosophical, feminist, and fanciful, this is an atmospheric tale that meanders to a sweetly rousing conclusion. Forget the ark, forget the patriarch. It's the women who tend to triumph in this modern take on an Old Testament parable.

kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/lindsay-starck/noahs-wife/

Review: Kirkus

Starck has crafted a quirky tale with several strong characters . . . her modern-day fable of faith, hope, loss, and illusion is intriguing.

Review: Booklist

Noah’s Wife by Lindsay Starck is a riveting fable based loosely on the biblical story of Noah’s Ark. Only this time, it is Noah’s wife herself who embraces the ideas of faith and community, and her strength and compassion give this story a powerful, modern twist. Although the novel is filled with such exquisite detail that you may want to read this while sitting under an umbrella, Starck’s strength is in her characters. She peoples the sodden town with compelling, often hilarious individuals, each of whom will remain with you long after you turn the last page.

Quote: Melanie Benjamin

Through a compelling cast of characters, Starck illustrates the struggle to maintain hope and faith when confronted with loss and destruction . . . [a] stunning first novel.

postandcourier.com/article/20151115/PC1201/151119627/1002/-x2018-noah-x2019-s-wife-x2019-a-modern-allegory-of-hope

Review: The Charleston Post and Courier

A testament to the power of believing in yourself, the journey of Noah's wife to define herself on her own terms runs parallel to the internal struggles of the town's citizens. . . . While the story does not exactly follow the structure of the biblical Noah tale, the strong narrative voice gives the impression of a modern-day fable. By turns humorous and moving, this mixture of allegory and offbeat characters will delight readers.

Review: Shelf Awareness

The characters’ ultimate struggle is a lovely reminder that – differences aside – we’re all in the same boat.

Review: Woman's Day

Noah’s Wife may be a contemporary allegory, but Lindsay Starck is a classic storyteller dealing with human folly in the face of nature’s ungovernable force. Her novel is an engrossing fusion of wisdom and beautiful writing.

Quote: Mary McGarry Morris

A debut of biblical proportions.

reviews.libraryjournal.com/2015/07/prepub/fiction-previews/five-key-literaryhistorical-debut-novels-fiction-previews-jan-2016-pt-1/

Review: Library Journal

More like this