Published by
G.P. Putnam's Sons (2018-10)
Current material
ARC
Original language
English
Themas
Children’s picture books
BACK

I AM NOT A FOX

by Groenink, ChuckWolf, Karina

A curious creature that looks like a fox but acts like a dog sets out to find where he belongs in this charming tale of self-discovery and friendship perfect for fans of Gaston and Not Quite Narwhal.

When Luca first arrives at the dog park, the other dogs turn him away. "You're not a dog," they say, "You're a fox." But . . . Luca likes to chase cats. He likes to yip at mailmen. And he likes sniff other dogs you-know-where. Still, Luca has to admit, he doesn't look like the other dogs. So . . . he must be a fox, right? But when Luca finds a trio of foxes in the forest and asks to join them, they don't think that Luca is a fox at all. After all, Luca acts just like a dog. Luca can't seem to find anyone quite like him, but then he meets a caring little girl and finds something even better--a friend. In this heartwarming tale, Karina Wolf and Chuck Groenick remind us that you don't need a label to find just where you belong.

Karina Wolf is the author of the picture book The Insomniacs. She studied literature and film in New York, Paris, and Dublin, and she works in television and film production. She lives in Manhattan with her two dogs, Luca and Barry Manilow.

Chuck Groenink has illustrated several picture books, among them Hank's Big Day by Evan Kuhlman, The Friend Ship by Kat Yeh, How to Be a Hero by Florence Parry Heide, and William's Winter Nap by Linda Ashman. Born and raised in the Netherlands, he now lives and works in the Hudson Valley of New York.

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

agents@mohrbooks
Annelie Geissler

Available View on Rightsdesk


Weblink:
karinawolf.com

Comments

A warmhearted and warm-spirited story of love and acceptance.

Review: Kirkus

Wolf (The Insomniacs) and Groenink (William's Winter Nap) take on the big issue of identity within the context of a gentle urban world, and readers will sense that the thoughtful, earnest protagonist's question"Who am I?" - will lead to a wonderful answer: someone who is loved.

Review: Publishers Weekly

More like this