Vendor
Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Published by
Viking (2017-06-13)
Current material
Final Pages
Original language
English
Themas
Memoirs
BACK

HEALING CHILDREN

A Surgeon's Stories from the Frontiers of Pediatric Medicine

by Newman, Kurt

A groundbreaking medical memoir by one of our nation's leading pediatric surgeons - the visionary head of Children's National - for fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gwande.

Anyone who has seen a child recover from a deep wound or a broken bone knows that kids are made to heal. Their bodies are more resilient, more adaptive, and far more able to withstand acute stress than adults. And yet children are often treated as an afterthought by the medical establishment and shunted off to doctors who specialize in treating adults. Will an anesthesiologist accustomed to treating older patients know how best to handle a toddler going under for the first time? If your soccer-playing daughter suffers a concussion, should you take her to the nearest ER--or drive further to seek out doctors who specialize in treating kids?

In this deeply inspiring memoir Dr. Kurt Newman draws from his long experience as a pediatric surgeon working at one of our nation's top children's hospitals to make the case that children are more than miniature adults. Through the story of his own career and deeply moving accounts of the brave kids he has treated over the years (and their equally brave and determined parents) he reveals the revolution that is taking place in pediatric medicine.

When Dr. Newman decided to specialize in pediatrics in the 80s, the field was in its infancy, struggling for investment and esteem. Now, nearly 40 years later, pediatric medicine is in the midst of an exhilarating transformation, but few parents know how to find the best doctors or access the best care for their children. Far too many find themselves marooned, frustrated, and afraid. Doctor Newman wrote this book in part to help guide parents--not only of sick kids, but of all kids. A deeply human story with a spectacular cast of young heroes and heroines, Healing Children will convince you that we still have a lot to learn from our kids.


Kurt Newman, MD,is President and CEO of Children's National Medical Center in Washington, DC, widely recognized as one of the nation's best pediatric hospitals. Dr. Newman has been a surgeon at Children's National for over 30 years and is professor of surgery and pediatrics at George Washington University School of Medicine. He helped create the Sheikh Zayed Institute for Pediatric Surgical Innovation, dedicated to making children's surgery less invasive and pain free. A strong advocate for the expansion of mental health access for kids, he is actively involved in improving pediatric health nationally through his work on the boards of the Children's Hospital Association and Safe Kids Worldwide. He and his wife Alison are the parents of two college age sons and live in Bethesda.

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Sebastian Ritscher

Available View on Rightsdesk

Comments

Newman captures the beautiful collegiality of pediatric medicine and the wisdom of parents and of children themselves . . .

Review: The New York Times Book Review

A genuine and inspiring chronicle of a doctor fighting the good fight.

Review: Kirkus Reviews

In this deeply moving and personal book, Kurt Newman shares the inspiring stories of the children he has treated and reveals what he has learned from them. In the tradition of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gawande, he helps us to learn about medical issues while feeling the emotions of real-life situations. Healing Children includes a lot of practical advice for parents, but it is a book for everyone who cares to understand the beauties and mysteries of health.

Quote: Walter Isaacson, bestselling author of Einstein and Steve Jobs

HEALING CHILDREN makes an emotional case for the importance of ‘child-specific’ medical treatment. The book is composed of individual, highly detailed stories of mentors, treatments, case studies and especially the young patients themselves, for whose courage and resilience he has boundless admiration.

Review: The Washington Post

If you did nothing but read the astounding, miraculous and occasionally crushing stories that Dr. Newman so vividly relates about daily life in a pediatric hospital you would be enthralled by Healing Children. But there is a bigger truth to this book, a more compelling reason to read it. And that is to acknowledge not only the courage of young patients and pediatric physicians alike, but to be brought fact to face with the many ways that we don’t prioritize children’s health. That with the vast resources of this country, pediatric hospitals are few and far between, pediatricians are generally underpaid and, most of all, research dollars are hard to come by. Healing Children is an amazing look at the tenacity and courage of kids and doctors under difficult circumstances. But it is also a cri de coeur for prioritizing the health and well-being of our youngest and often our most vulnerable citizens- our children.

Quote: Madeline Levine, Ph.D. author of The Price of Privilege and Teach Your Children

More like this