BACK

GIRL GONE VIRAL

by Ahmadi, Arvin

The inventive and hauntingly timely story of a seventeen-year-old coder's catapult to stardom, reminiscent of The Social Network with a Ready Player One twist.

For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She can build entire worlds from scratch - shimmering lakes, Mars craters, any virtual experience her heart desires.

But she can't code her dad back into her life. When he disappeared after her tenth birthday, leaving only a cryptic note, Opal tried desperately to find him. And when he never turned up, she enrolled at a boarding school for technical prodigies and tried to forget.

Until now. Because WAVE, the world's biggest virtual reality platform, has announced a contest where the winner gets to meet its billionaire founder. The same billionaire who worked closely with Opal's dad. The one she always believed might know where he went. The one who maybe even murdered him.

What begins as a small data hack to win the contest spirals out of control when Opal goes viral, digging her deeper into a hole of lies, hacks, and manipulation. How far will Opal go for the answers - or is it the attention - she's wanted for years?

Arvin Ahmadi grew up outside Washington, DC. He graduated from Columbia University and has worked in the tech industry. When he's not reading or writing books, he can be found watching late-night talk show interviews and editing Wikipedia pages.

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Annelie Geissler

Available View on Rightsdesk


Weblink:
https://www.arvinahmadi.com

Comments

In Opal's story, Arvin Ahmadi has crafted a timely and gripping sci-fi tale, grounded in the technology that links us, and what finding ourselves within it can cost.

Quote: Alex London, bestselling author of Proxy and Black Wings Beating

Contemporary readers will find the thoughtfully realistic depictions of digital life familiar, while the sci-fi flourishes - hyperloops and virtual reality hook-ups - make for an entertaining display of provocative tech possibilities.

Review: BCCB

In a Girl Gone Viral takeover, Booktuber Emma Giordano of @emmalovesbooks (167k subscribers!) TOOK OVER Arvin Ahmadi's day, having her followers vote on his decisions across social media platforms and amplified by Penguin Teen!

www.youtube.com/user/emmmabooks

Quote: emmalovesbooks

BUSTLE recently featured the book in their Spring roundup: "45 New Books Coming Out In May 2019 To Add To Your Memorial Day Reading List"

www.bustle.com/p/45-new-books-coming-out-in-may-2019-to-add-to-your-memorial-day-reading-list-17130948

Review: Bustle

A fast-paced Black Mirror episode with an endearing teenage protagonist.

Quote: Marie Claire Magazine

US WEEKLY (circ:1.9M) included Arvin Ahmadi's GIRL GONE VIRAL in their Spring Reads feature! This issue is on newsstands now!

Quote: US Weekly

Tense, twisty, and oh-so-timely, Girl Gone Viral is the perfect thriller for the virtual reality era. Don't start this book unless you can finish in one sitting. I loved it!

Quote: Brendan Reichs, NYT bestselling author of Nemesis

Buzzfeed recently featured the book in their Spring roundup of 29 YA Books You Absolutely Must Read This Spring: "... This futuristic YA novel is uniquely intriguing and perfect for fans of Black Mirror."

www.buzzfeed.com/farrahpenn/ya-books-you-absolutely-must-read-this-spring

Quote: BuzzFeed

More like this