Vendor
Brandt & Hochman Agency
Published by
HarperCollins (2014-03)
Current material
1st Pass Pages
Original language
English
Themas
Books for very young children, children’s picture books & activity books
BACK

DEATH SWORN

by Cypess, Leah

A fantasy about a young sorceress with mysteriously fading powers who has been sent to tutor a sect of deadly assassins in their underground stronghold; but while trying to solve the murders of the tutors who preceded her, she will discover a terrible secret about the assassins' true goals, one that will challenge her deepest beliefs and force her to make a choice that could overthrow an empire.

A secret cave of assassins-in-training. A young sourceress sentenced to be their teacher. When a young sorceress is exiled to teach magic to a clan of assassins, she will find that secrets can be even deadlier than swords. From the critically acclaimed Leah Cypess comes a dangerous and eerie fantasy about murder, shocking discoveries, and fiery star-crossed romance that readers of Cinda Williams Chima and Robin LaFevers won't be able to put down. Ileni is losing her magic. And that means she's losing everything: her position as the rising star of her people, her purpose in life, and even the young man she loves.

Sent to the assassins' cave, hidden deep within the mountains, she expects no one will ever hear from her again. The last two sorcerers sent died within weeks of each other. Accidents? Or something more sinister? As Ileni navigates the dangers—both natural and human—of the caves, she'll discover secrets that have been kept for decades. And she'll find an ally in Sorin, the deadly young man who could be the assassins' next leader.

With Sorin determined to protect her, sparks—magical and romantic—will fly. But will even he understand the choice she must make in the end? This dangerous and eerie novel is an epic fantasy, perfect for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore, but it is also a murder mystery, a fiery star-crossed romance, and a journey into the unknown. To be followed by a sequel in March 2015. By the author of MISTWOOD and NIGHTSPELL.

Leah Cypess is the author of the acclaimed Mistwood and its companion, Nightspell. She lives with her family in Boston, Massachusetts.

Available rights (47)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
Albanian World All

Brandt & Hochman Agency
Marianne Merola

Available View on Rightsdesk
Arabic World All

Brandt & Hochman Agency
Marianne Merola

Available View on Rightsdesk
Belarusian World All

Brandt & Hochman Agency
Marianne Merola

Available View on Rightsdesk
Bosnian World All

Brandt & Hochman Agency
Marianne Merola

Available View on Rightsdesk
Bosnian World All

Brandt & Hochman Agency
Marianne Merola

Available View on Rightsdesk
Find 42 more rights on Rightsdesk.

Sold rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Annelie Geissler

right_status_sold View on Rightsdesk


Weblink:
http://www.leahcypess.com/

Comments

A thoughtful exploration of identity and responsibility wrapped in a twisty, suspenseful mystery and set in a gorgeously realized fantasy world.

Review: Kirkus Reviews

In a striking start to a new series full of magic and murder, Cypess (Nightspell, 2011) has created a heroine at the intersection of Tamora Pierce’s Alanna and George R. R. Martin’s Arya Stark. Ileni, a sorceress, is sent by her village elders to a rival land to tutor a group of young, brash aspiring assassins in the ways of magic, but she’s been separated from everything she loves, and soon she is wishing for her assignment to end . . . at whatever cost. Her predecessors were quickly dispatched by a mysterious foe, and she has been told she’s just as expendable. With her powers fading, she’s starting to believe it. But she’s not alone in her ever-more-hostile circumstances: Sorin, a young assassin assigned to protect Ileni, is good at training, magic, and doing what he’s told without question, and they work together to keep each other safe and solve the murders of Ileni’s predecessors. Fans who loved Kristin Cashore’s Graceling (2008) and its brave heroine will be sated by Cypess’ genre-crossing tale of intrigue.

Review: Booklist

A dark, atmospheric, murder mystery laced with sorcery, intrigue, and dangerous romance. Prepare to be ensnared from the very first page.

Quote: Cinda Williams Chima

YA fantasy at its finest. Intricate and clever world-building, heart-stopping action, and an unforgettable romance that left me breathless—I adored every single moment and never wanted it to end. This is Leah Cypess's best book yet!

Quote: Sarah J. Maas

More like this