Published by
Touchstone (2015-02)
Current material
Final Pages
Original language
English
Themas
Thriller / suspense fiction
BACK

CRAZY LOVE YOU

by Unger, Lisa

From award-winning and New York Times bestselling novelist Lisa Unger comes a new thriller combining her signature dark psychological suspense with a chilling touch of horror.

Ian Paine has spent his life running away. He's drunk so much booze, taken so many reality warping drugs, gotten high so often that his past has finally faded from the forefront of his mind. He spent his childhood wishing he was anywhere, anyone else, and to numb the pain of his memories and his secrets he gorged himself on food until he was unrecognizable. He hid inside himself, and to the world he was just a lonely fat boy. But Ian was lucky; he grew up and managed to escape the haunting pull of his hometown and become a successful comic book artist in New York City.

There has only ever been one constant in Ian's life: Priss. She is everything he isn't – powerful, enticing, beautiful. Dangerous. She isn't afraid to confront the problems that Ian isn't strong enough to face, but she also loves to feed his addictions – for drugs, for sex, for running away – like no one else. No one seems to understand the volatile Priss the way Ian does, but she was his first and only friend, sticking by him as he transformed from the shy, obese kid in art class into a whole new person.

But everything begins to change when Ian meets Megan, a kind, good-hearted woman that he wants to be better for. Ian is ready to get married and build a foundation for a new life so that he can finally move on from his past. But Priss won't let Ian go so easily, not when she's spent a lifetime by his side. Priss is angry, and when she's angry, bad things begin to happen. . .

Lisa Unger is an award-winning New York Times and internationally bestselling author. Her novels have sold more than 1.7 million copies and have been translated into twenty-six languages. She lives in Florida. www.lisaunger.com

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Sebastian Ritscher

Available View on Rightsdesk


Weblink:
www.lisaunger.com

Comments

Dutch: WPG French: Editions du Toucan UK: Simon & Schuster TURKISH: Marti

Quote: Touchstone

CRAZY LOVE YOU kept me reading like a madwoman, desperate to find out what happens next. This is a haunting, compulsive tale that will have you under its spell long after you've closed the book.

Quote: Tess Gerritsen

Mesmerizing and unnerving from its first pages to its stunner of an ending, Lisa Unger's Crazy Love You is a tale you won't soon forget.

Quote: Megan Abbott

An extraordinary psychological thriller . . . Manages to do an incredible amount of things, all of them well, including a truly unique romantic triangle and the blurred lines between unconditional friendship and romantic infatuation. . . . A simmering tale of romantic obsession and angst in the tradition of Body Heat or Fatal Attraction, laced with the noirish spirit of James M. Cain. Wonderfully crafted and beautifully executed.

http://www.providencejournal.com/features/entertainment/books/20150208-thrillers-roundup-comedy-psychology-and-murder.ece

Review: Providence Journal

With CRAZY LOVE YOU, Lisa Unger has outdone herself. I’ve been a fan of hers for years but this is hands-down my favorite book she’s written. It has all the twists and turns we’ve come to expect from her, along with a delightfully unreliable narrator, and a psychological depth that is as poignant as it is shocking. People like to exaggerate claims of reading a book in a single sitting. I did—cover to cover without once rising from my chair. It’s that good.

Quote: Gregg Hurwitz

Exhilarating and gut-wrenching . . . Proves to be complex and surprising in several ways, and Unger has a gift for telling a story with great characters while also manipulating the reader. . . . It’s crazy good.

http://bigstory.ap.org/article/21d93977c4124345866be43246c659f3/book-review-crazy-love-you-complex-and-surprising

Review: Associated Press

Unger serves up all the standard entertainments of the psychological suspense tale, along with the bonus delights of sharply drawn characters and occasional rest breaks of humor. Unger is adept at evoking the eerie, but she’s also capable of droll sociological commentary. After reading Unger’s sinister thriller, anyone cavalier enough to think they can easily put the past to rest (and even live companionably with the dead) will think again.

Review: Washington Post

Unger’s skillful portrayal of complex and traumatized characters make her latest psychological thriller that will keep readers engaged from start to finish . . . . This imaginative tale . . . may be the author’s best work yet.

http://bookverdict.com/details.xqy?uri=Product2015-01-01-4041669.xml

Review: Library Journal

When I tell you I could not put this book down, I mean I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN!!! It is dark and twisted and captivating and full of endless surprises. I promise you're in for a wild ride.

Quote: John Searles

Unger knows what her fans like and scores another bull's eye with this one. Classic Unger and a surefire hit with her followers.

www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/lisa-unger/crazy-love-you/

Review: Kirkus

Suspenseful . . . . Will keep readers hooked.

www.publishersweekly.com/978-1-4516-9120-7

Review: Publishers Weekly

Riveting . . . This is a complex, intricate story, yet the pages fly by as Ian, the most unreliable narrator since Nick Dunne in Gone Girl, leads us on a wild ride in this superb psychological thriller. Unger is at the top of her game here.

www.booklistonline.com/Crazy-Love-You-Lisa-Unger/pid=7161699

Review: Booklist, starred review

Unger has long been adept at writing suspenseful, surprising novels, and Crazy Love You ups the ante. Every time I thought I had a handle on what was really happening and why, she gave the plot another sly twist that left me scrambling to catch up. . . . It all leads to a shocking but ultimately satisfying ending, with even darker secrets revealed and resolved.

http://www.tampabay.com/features/books/review-lisa-ungers-crazy-love-you-blurs-fantasy-and-reality/2217234

Review: Tampa Bay Times

More like this