Vendor
Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Published by
Simon & Schuster (March 2013)
Original language
English
Themas
Political economy
BACK

CONTAGIOUS

Why Things Catch On

by Berger, Jonah

Why do certain products and ideas go viral? Dynamic young Wharton professor Jonah Berger draws on his research to explain the six steps that make products or ideas contagious. This groundbreaking new book explains the six steps to crafting contagious products and ideas.

Why do some products get more word of mouth than others? Why does some online content go viral? Word of mouth makes products, ideas, and behaviors catch on. It’s more influential than advertising and far more effective.

Can you create word of mouth for your product or idea? According to Berger, you can. Whether you operate a neighborhood restaurant, a corporation with hundreds of employees, or are running for a local office for the first time, the steps that can help your product or idea become viral are the same.

Contagious is filled with fascinating information drawn from Berger’s research. You will be surprised to learn, for example, just how little word of mouth is generated online versus elsewhere. Already praised by Dan Ariely, Jonah Lehrer, and Dan Gilbert, and sold in nine countries, this book is a must-read for people who want their projects and ideas to succeed.

Jonah Berger is James G. Campbell Assistant Professor of Marketing at Wharton University of Pennsylania. At Wharton, he teaches an elective called Contagious: How Products, Behaviors, and Ideas Catch On. His research has been published in top-tier academic journals.

Available rights (1)

Language Territory Type Vendor Status
German World All

Mohrbooks Literary Agency
Sebastian Ritscher

Available View on Rightsdesk


Weblink:
jonahberger.com/

Comments

Jonah Berger is as creative and thoughtful as he is spunky and playful. Looking at his research, much like studying a masterpiece in a museum, provides the observer with new insights about life. . . . It is hard to come up with a better example of using social science to illuminate the ordinary and extraordinary in our daily lives.

Quote: Dan Ariely, author

Berger writes in a sprightly, charming style that deftly delineates the intersection of cognitive psychology and social behavior with an eye toward helping businesspeople and others spread their messages. The result is a useful and entertaining primer that diagnoses countless baffling pop culture epidemics.

www.publishersweekly.com/978-1-4516-8657-9

Review: Publishers Weekly

British: Simon & Schuster UK ; Arabic: Jarir; Bulgarian: Obsidian ; Chinese (cc): China Times ; Chinese (SI): Publishing House of Electronics Industry; Czech: Jota ; Dutch: Het Spectrum ; Estonian: Tanapev ; French (F): Pearon France ; French (CAN): Transcontinental ; Greek: Terzopoulos ; Hebrew: Yedioth ; Italian: Sperling & Kupfer ; Japan: Nikkei ; Korean: Munhakdongne ; Portuguese (Brazil): Texo Editores/Lua de Papel ; Portuguese (P): Grupo du Autor ; Romanian: Publica ; Russian: AST ; Spanish (Latin America): Temas Grupo Editorial; Spanish (Spain): Centro Libros; Taiwan: WeLearn Co. ; Turkey: Optimist Yayim Dagitim ; Ukrainian: Nash Format ; Vietnamese: ThaiHaBooks

Quote: Client

His book is lively and entertaining, and full of the very sorts of surprising facts and useful ideas that make irresistible conversation pieces.

www.dispatch.com/content/stories/life_and_entertainment/2013/03/17/1-subtle-outside-influences-shape-human-behavior.html

Review: Columbus Dispatch

Give Them Something to Talk About: PW Talks with Jonah Berger

www.publishersweekly.com/pw/print/20121217/55151-give-them-something-to-talk-about-pw-talks-with-jonah-berger.html

Quote: Publishers Weekly

FAST COMPANY’s major profile of Jonah Berger

www.fastcompany.com/magazine/174/jonah-berger-versus-malcolm-gladwell

Quote: Fast Company

Jonah's ideas are so conversation-worthy that they leap into the media even when published in academic journals. . . . If you lose this book you won't be able to avoid hearing about it when it launches.

Quote: Chip Heath, author

Throughout the book, Berger provides a number of entertaining, illustrative examples in the vein of Malcolm Gladwell or Freakonomics. A provocative shift in focus from the technology of online transmission to the human element and a bold claim to explain “how word of mouth and social influence work...[and] can [be used to] make any product or idea contagious.

Review: Kirkus Review

Jonah Berger knows more about what makes information 'go viral' than anyone in the world. I can't wait to read his book—and pass along the insights to everyone I know.

Quote: Dan Gilbert, author

Marketers will be glad to know that this book’s practicality isn't limited by business size. Managers will love its infectious nature. So if you're ready to see your product spread around the world, then "Contagious" is a book you should catch.

azdailysun.com/business/national-and-international/turning-your-work-into-a-contagious-idea/article_333ca13e-0a09-539b-bda9-4e79a777e189.html

Review: Arizona Daily Sun

More like this