Publishers

Berkley Hardcover
(2018-03-20)

Genres

Fiction
Crime/Mystery
Thriller
General

Current material

2nd Pass Pages

More information

http://

THE BROKEN GIRLS

Simone St. James

This is an atmospheric, engrossing suspense novel about two murders set decades apart. It's perfect for readers of Jennifer McMahon and Kimberly McCreight.

Vermont, 1950. There's a place for the girls whom no one wants--the troublemakers, the illegitimate, the too smart for their own good. It's called Idlewild Hall. And in the small town where it's located, there are rumors that the boarding school is haunted. Four roommates bond over their whispered fears, their budding friendship blossoming--until one of them mysteriously disappears.

Vermont, 2014. As much as she's tried, journalist Fiona Sheridan cannot stop revisiting the events surrounding her older sister's death. Twenty years ago, her body was found lying in the overgrown fields near the ruins of Idlewild Hall. And though her sister's boyfriend was tried and convicted of murder, Fiona can't shake the suspicion that something was never right about the case.

When Fiona discovers that Idlewild Hall is being restored by an anonymous benefactor, she decides to write a story about it. But a shocking discovery during the renovations will link the loss of her sister to secrets that were meant to stay hidden in the past--and a voice that won't be silenced.

Simone St. James is the award-winning author of Lost Among the Living; The Other Side of Midnight; Silence for the Dead; An Inquiry into Love and Death, which was shortlisted for the Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel from Crime Writers of Canada; and The Haunting of Maddy Clare, which won two RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America and an Arthur Ellis Award from Crime Writers of Canada. She wrote her first ghost story, about a haunted library, when she was in high school, and spent twenty years behind the scenes in the television business before leaving to write full-time.

Available Rights

Language Territory Type Agency Client
German World Book Nicole Meillaud
Mohrbooks AG
Berkley Please login

Comments

10. March 2017, quote
THE BROKEN GIRLS is clever and wonderfully chilling. It held me hostage in a very modern ghost story until the early hours.

Fiona Barton, New York Times bestselling author

8. May 2017, quote
Haunting and memorable, THE BROKEN GIRLS is a mesmerizing blend of past and present; a sometimes heartbreaking and always compelling quest for the truth about secrets that shouldn't stay buried. Masterfully done!

Karen Dionne, author

8. May 2017, quote
Part hauntingly gothic and part suspenseful crime drama, THE BROKEN GIRLS is a bona fide page-turner. This story of friendship, revenge and redemption will make readers of women's fiction rejoice, and the addition of romance and a particularly nasty ghost

Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of THE NIGHT THE LIGHT WENT OUT

1. September 2017, quote
Chilling, disturbing and gripping, this is a well-written, modern-day Gothic tale about facing our darkest fears.

Tessa Harris, author

1. September 2017, quote
With the moldering ruin of a boarding school, a malicious ghost, and secrets that will not stay buried, The Broken Girls promises much and more than delivers. Each new twist is served with calculated, masterful precision….A vivid, riveting story you won’t

Deanna Raybourn, New York Times bestselling author

17. October 2017, quote
UK / Commonw.: Headline UK

Berkley

17. October 2017, quote
Simone St. James weaves a spellbinding tale of fervently held secrets, mysterious murders, and a boarding school for the unwanted. Told through deftly intertwined timelines, this gothic ghost story held me rapt until its dark, final twists. An addictive r

Kristina McMorris, author

More like this


Back