Publishers

Crooked Lane
(2018-06-12)

Genres

Fiction
Crime/Mystery

Current material

Final Pages

More information

http://

LAST GIRL GONE

J.G. Hetherton

This pulse-pounding series debut is the next obsession for fans of Julia Keller and David Bell, and readers of unflinching thrillers.

Sometimes, the journey home is the most harrowing. And it's every parent's worst nightmare.

Investigative journalist Laura Chambers is back in her tiny hometown of Hillsborough, North Carolina, the one place she swore never to return. Fired from the Boston Globe, her career in shambles, she reluctantly takes a job with the local paper. The work is simple, unimportant, and worst of all, boring - at least until a missing girl turns up dead, the body impeccably clean, dressed to be the picture of innocence.

Years earlier, ten-year-old Patty Finch left home and never made it back. But for the people of Hillsborough, Patty was just the beginning. Child after child disappeared, a reign of terror the town desperately wants to forget. Now that terror has returned to seize another girl. And another. And another.

This is the story Laura's been waiting for her one last chance to get back onto the front page. She dives deeper into a case that runs colder by the second, only to discover the truth may be far closer to home than she could have ever imagined. Powerful, intricate, and tense, LAST GIRL GONE will have you looking over your shoulder long after the last page.


J. G. Hetherton was raised in rural Wisconsin, graduated from Northwestern University, and lived in Chicago for the better part of a decade. Along the way to his first novel, he dabbled in many different day jobs before moving to North Carolina for a girl. They live in Durham, North Carolina with their twin daughters, and when he's not writing, you can find him on the hiking trail or hunkered down with a good book by Sara Paretsky, Linwood Barclay, or Tami Hoag.

Available Rights

Language Territory Type Agency Client
German World Book Nicole Meillaud
Mohrbooks AG
Biagi Literary Please login

Comments

7. February 2018, quote
J. G. Hetherton's Last Girl Gone is astunning debut that takes the reader down a dark and vivid rabbit hole. The twists and turns come fast and furious, and the novel's protagonist, journalist Laura Chambers, is a character I want to read more about. Swif

David Bell, bestselling author of Bring Her Home

7. February 2018, quote
Last Girl Gone doesn't read like the work of someone new to suspense. Perfectly paced and plotted from its dramatic beginning to its twist ending, Last Girl Gone is acompulsive read that will keep the reader turning pages.

Christine Carbo, award-winning author of The Weight of Night

7. February 2018, quote
Forget sleep. Forget everything. No one will pry this book out of your hands until the last diabolical twist.

Brian Freeman, bestselling author of The Night Bird

7. February 2018, quote
Chilling, creepy, atmospheric... a rare debut novel that reads like the work of a seasoned pro. [Hetherton's] tale of murder, cruelty and small-town psychopathology grips onto you hard and fast anddoesn't ever let go...Outstanding...Not to be missed!

Owen Laukkanen, award-winning author of The Forgotten Girls

7. February 2018, quote
One hell of a twisted baddie, all wrapped up in [a]fantastic premise, fantastic writing, and one hell of an ending. I read it in a day.

Paul Cleave, international bestselling author of Trust No One

More like this


Back