Publishers

Ebury Press
(April 2018)

Genres

Fiction
Women's Fiction

Current material

Book

More information

http://www.helenrussell.co.uk/

GONE VIKING

Helen Russell

Alice Ray is a stressed out workaholic and mother who likes to be in control At All Times, but things are starting to slip in quite spectacular fashion. To recover her calm and her fight she finally gives in to her sister Melissa's pleas to join her on an outdoorsy retreat.

But this is a getaway like no other. The plan: go Viking. Expected to go off grid the sisters must learn to live as nature intended – going back to basics with not a Starbucks in sight. To complicate matters Alice and Melissa have not spent much time together in years, and soon realise how little they actually know each other, and how many scores are yet to be settled...

Joined by two strangers, each of the women is about to learn that once you go Viking nothing will ever be the same again.

GONE VIKING is a novel perfect for fans of Alison Pearson's I DON'T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT, for those who love the humour of Mhairi McFarlane, and for readers seeking inspiration on better ways to live.

Helen Russell writes for magazines and newspapers around the world, and in her first book, a memoir called The Year of Living Danishly, she wrote extensively about moving to Denmark with her husband and finding happiness Scandi-style, which in turn spurred international interest in the Danish concept of hygge. You can find out more about her writing and speaking on her website http://www.helenrussell.co.uk/

Icon Books have now sold well over 130K copies of The Year of Living Danishly, which was licensed in 13 territories. Gone Viking was pre-empted by Ebury Press (Penguin Random House) in the UK and they will publish in spring 2018. You can read the trade announcement here: https://www.thebookseller.com/news/ebury-pre-empts-gone-viking-499731

Available Rights

Language Territory Type Agency Client
German World Book Antonia Fritz
Fritz AG
JOHNSON & ALCOCK LIMITED

Comments

18. September 2017, Media coverage
[...]Pitched as a Scandi Eat Pray Love and "a work of women's fiction with a difference", the novel is described as both a light, "hugely funny" book and "very feminist" in its themes... --- The Bookseller

The Bookseller

3. October 2017, Foreign licence
Poland: Burda;

Client

More like this


Back